Episode 13-Come on Spring time

Welcome Everyone

Thanks for joining me if you are new, and WELCOME BACK if you are returning. Lots of new stuff going on. But let’s start with the Contest which ended Yesterday (April 30).

AND THE WINNER IS>>>>BUG-KNITS, LIZ from Fargo.

 

I will send you a message on Ravelry and post it as well in our Ravelry Group. (If you are not a member please join us)

So I went to Northern Solstice Alpaca Farm today. I LOVE IT THERE!!! My parents and sister went with Gerry. Robin & Corry were so great; friendly. We were there for about 3hrs and Robin spent the whole time with us, answering questions that we asked the whole time. My Dad really liked the farm. I am doing some research about cost and things…we will be going to a seminar that they do at the farm about owning alpaca.

Treats anyone?!

In 2 weeks all the Alpacas will be sheared. So there will be some beautiful fiber available very soon :-). I will be heading over to the farm again after the shearing to see everyone (looking funny).

Sticks & Strings:

Let’s start with a picture of my February Lady Sweater which I am SO HAPPY WITH!!!! I blocked it on Easter at my parents house and stopped over on Wednesday to pick up the sweater. I tried it on and I LOVE IT.

 

The sweater grow about 4-5inches in the body length. I’ll say the sweater looks better in person then it does in this picture.

I am also still working on my Eliza fingerless gloves. I am worried they are going to be a little too small but the 1st pair I started in large was way too big so we will see.

I also cast on my 1st pair of toe up socks-Straight Up Socks by Kellie Oreb (Knitters Brewing Co).

Down on the Corner:

Gerry is still working on the Rug and it LOOKS FABULOUS!!!!

That should cover it:

I have been working on 10 fabric trash bags for the 1st craft fair of the year in Southwest Harbor. Acadia Fiber Faire

                     

 

 

 

Food for Thought:

Spicy Honey Chicken Thighs

  • 8 boneless skinless chicken thighs, about 2lbs
  • 2 tsp oil

Rub:

  • 2 tsp garlic powder
  • 2 tsp chili powder
  • 1/2 tsp onion powder
  • 1/2 tsp coriander
  • 1 tsp kosher salt
  • 1 tsp cumin
  • 1/4 tsp chipotle chili powder

Glaze:

  • 1/2 cup honey
  • 1 Tbsp cider vinegar
  1. In a bowl, combine the rub spices ingredients and mix well.
  2. Take the chicken and drizzle oil over chicken.  Give it a rub with your hands to lightly coat all the pieces.
  3.  Toss chicken with the spice rub to coat all sides well.
  4. Line a cookie sheet with foil. Place the chicken thighs on the cookie sheet, and broil in the oven on high for 5 minutes on each side with your oven rack at the highest level.
  5. Meanwhile, warm honey in the microwave just enough to thin it out. Mix in the vinegar until combined.  Set aside just a couple of tablespoons to drizzle on after cooking.
  6. Take the chicken out of the oven and lower your oven rack one level.  Brush each side of the chicken with the honey glaze mixture. Return the chicken to the oven and allow to cook on each side for another 3 minutes, or until chicken is cooked all the way through. Keep an eye on the chicken so it doesn’t burn.  You do want the edges to get a little dark though.  Drizzle chicken with the remaining honey mixture that was set aside and serve.
3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jolene
    May 02, 2011 @ 22:08:33

    YAY!!!! you got back to the Alpaca farm…and Gerry liked it-amazing 😉 I’ll talk to you tomorrow

    Reply

  2. Northern Solstice
    May 06, 2011 @ 13:23:31

    We’re glad to hear you and your father enjoyed the visit. Great pictures! Looking forward to seeing you after shearing!

    Reply

  3. KnittingsMyBag
    May 09, 2011 @ 21:55:56

    Came over to listen after being told about your podcast from Heather at HighlandHandmades. She said that you are in Maine but that accent sounds like mid-west! I’m from Maine but living in exile in California for the time being and really enjoy listening to people from my “homeland” of Maine. Enjoyed the cast in any event and enjoyed hearing about Unity. I was raised in Pittsfield, Maine and we have lots of great friends in Unity!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

May 2011
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Categories

