Episode 22- Summertime

So I have started the couch to 5k program.  Only week 1 so I have lots of work today but this has led me to need play list. AND I come across DJ Jazzy Jeff & The Fresh Prince Summertime. I love THIS song….ok maybe its the fact that I love Will Smith.

What are the other great sounds you exercise too?

Other thing that is going on in Maine, we finally have hot hot hot weather…Its been between 85-95 degrees for about a week. Last weekend we went to Old orchard beach again last week, this time it was with the family. We had a great time…but I GOT fried.

The Hens are loving their outside activity area. It’s just like a condo for them now. Here are a few pics

As you can see they are happy…I’m hoping to have Eggs within a month or so. It’s really pretty exciting.

The garden is doing great as well. We have peas, broccoli, lettuce, spinach, red potatoes and summer squash right now…soon we will have green beans, tomatoes, green peppers and onions.

Tomorrow my sister and I are going to the Paranormal Faire. July 23 and 24, Paranormal/Psychic Faire, Saturday and Sunday: Meet with people who believe in things unusual. This unique event features, psychics, ghost hunters, exorcists,UFOologists and renowned crytozoologist and author, Loren Coleman (often seen on the History and Travel Channel). Regular Fort admission and a $2 event donation requested. It should be alot of fun….Ill give you an update next week.

Sticks & Strings:

So believe it or not I have done a TON of knitting this week…..BUT…..AS of last night I have nothing to show for it. I could just cry. I worked on my Jordan and had about 6 to 7 inches of knitting completed. I checked gauge because it looked a little small and I was off by 3 to4 stitches over 4inches…which meant my beautiful top was going to be 6inches too small. 😦 I was so sad. I almost just went with it but I knew I would be so upset if it didn’t fit. I frogged the whole DAMN! thing. Next night I know I need to jump right back on the horse. I cant figure out what the heck happened but I tried to cast on 3 times and couldn’t get it to work out. As of an hour ago it is cast on and I have 3 rows completed…I have not worked on any other project.

However I did go on a field trip to Halcyon Yarn. They were having their 40th anniversary party. I got a sweater worth of yarn for the leaflet pattern. Botanica in a beautiful mauve color which looks great with my skin tone I was told.

Food for Thought:

Since summer time is Veggie time for a lot of us (hopefully home-grown) I thought I would share a great salad option

Olive Garden Salad
(how to make it at home) yummy!

1 – bag romaine lettuce (just use the hearts) DURING  summer I use greens from my garden
4-5 – slices red onion
1 – cup large whole black olives (i skip them)
2-4 – Pepperoncini’s (skip theses too)
1/2 – cup or more croutons
1 or 2 – tomatoes, quartered
freshly grated Romano cheese

Combine salad ingredients and toss. Serve with olive gardens house dressing.

House Dressing Ingredients:

1/2 – cup mayonnaise
1/3 – cup white vinegar
1 – tablespoon vegetable oil
2 – tablespoon corn Syrup
2 – tablespoon Parmesen cheese
2 – tablespoon Romano cheese
1/2 – garlic clove
1/2 – teaspoon Italian Seasoning
1/2 – teaspoon p. parsley Flakes
1 Tbsp. lemon Juice

Mix all ingredients in a blender until well mixed. If this is a little too tart for your tastes, add a little extra sugar. I added about 2 tablespoon of sugar to the dressing.

This weeks show is Fiber Beat, Go check it out!

Leave a Reply

July 2011
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Categories

