Episode 36 White Christmas

So Yesterday was Christmas…which means I was one week late with the podcast. Things have been crazy busy here. We clearly had to finish all our Christmas Shopping, plus we had to finish our project for the Adopt a Family Program. Two local family hopefully had a GREAT Holiday because of 24 people helped supply everything from the holiday meal to gifts to gift wrapping supplies.

One a personal note I had to finish all my Christmas Knitting, Christmas cards, AND ALL THE WRAPPING!

So this is the scoop on Christmas…so highlights of the events.

Friday night-My parents and Gerry and I went to Pizza Hut for dinner and then finished up some last-minute shopping.

Saturday I finished up things here… made a Chocolate Cream Pie, orange strudel breakfast bread, and Corn Bread. Around 2pm we travel a whole 4mins to my parents house to prepare for the 1st of two family dinners. We had a ham dinner (YUM!) and afterward a little dessert bar.

Christmas morning alarm went off at 5AM…we traveled again over to parents house and NO ONE but my dad was awake yet. Around 5:45am everyone else woke up. We opened our stockings which is always one of my favorite things. Then we did our Santa presents! I got a KINDLE!!! and Gerry got a surround sound system (god help me LOL)

My nephew (5yr) was so cute all he wanted for Christmas was teenage mutant ninja turtles which he got! My Dad got a new 3D DS lol, and my mom got a new coat. My sisters got nice things too but I don’t remember what lol

In review I got a couple of items for my kindle, two knitting books (coastal knits and best of knitscene), lots of new PJs, some jewelry, a new sonicare toothbrush. a perfume atomizer! and lots of other cool stuff.

Sticks & strings:

Finished Gerry’s Hat: Dean Street Hat

Also finished up the Straight up Socks which Stacey is a proud owner of. I love this pattern so easy great beginner sock! I also joined the KAL from Yarn on Tap podcast and the knitting brewing company for the Mystery sock.

The Boys actually put on their sweaters I knit them. and I was able to get a picture of them in it. Cayden liked his Diplodocus sweater and Ethan is only 18months old so he could have cared less LOL but he wear it without crying so that was a win. Caelum with butterscotch buttons looked perfect!

because I finished all my gift knitting I was able to cast on my Leaflet sweater using my Botanica yarn from halcyon yarns.

Purl Diva’s Hints for the Leaflet!

Food for Thought:

 Chocolate Cream Pie!

For crust

  • 1 1/3 cups chocolate cookies crumbs (I used Oreos) about 20 of them in a food processor)
  • 5 tablespoons unsalted butter, melted

For filling

  • 2/3 cup sugar
  • 1/4 cup cornstarch
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 4 large egg yolks
  • 3 cups whole milk
  • 4 oz fine-quality Semi- sweet chocolate , melted
  • 2 oz unsweetened chocolate, melted
  • 2 tablespoons unsalted butter, softened
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla

For topping

  • 1 cup chilled whipping cream
  • 1 tablespoon sugar

Make crust: Put oven rack in middle position and preheat oven to 350°F.

Stir together crumbs, butter, and sugar and press on bottom and up side of a 9-inch pie plate (1-quart capacity). Bake until crisp, about 15 minutes, and cool on a rack.

Make filling: Whisk together sugar, cornstarch, salt, and yolks in a 3-quart heavy saucepan until combined well, then add milk in a stream, whisking. Bring to a boil over moderate heat, whisking, then reduce heat and simmer, whisking, 1 minute (filling will be thick).

Force filling through a fine-mesh sieve into a bowl, then whisk in chocolates, butter, and vanilla. Cover surface of filling with a buttered round of wax paper and cool completely, about 2 hours.

Spoon filling into crust and chill pie, loosely covered, at least 6 hours.

Make topping: Just before serving, beat cream with sugar in a bowl using an electric mixer until it just holds stiff peaks, then spoon on top of pie.

Leave a Reply

December 2011
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Categories

